|
Post by SummerWolf on Apr 15, 2003 9:46:41 GMT -5
Not unless you're willing to code and hex hack at it on your own, I don't think so.
|
|
Forlorn
FESSer
Come grow old with me. The best is yet to be...
Posts: 207
|
Post by Forlorn on Apr 16, 2003 1:31:28 GMT -5
Well, the source code from Boo's translation (3 files )needs to compile under linux. SO anyone has any idea how to compile it under windows or not ?
|
|
Boo
FESSer
Posts: 3
|
Post by Boo on Apr 16, 2003 23:17:25 GMT -5
|
|
Forlorn
FESSer
Come grow old with me. The best is yet to be...
Posts: 207
|
Post by Forlorn on Apr 17, 2003 1:36:54 GMT -5
;D Thank you very much, Boo. I will try it right now. *sabotage school's comp* (malicious smile)!
|
|
Forlorn
FESSer
Come grow old with me. The best is yet to be...
Posts: 207
|
Post by Forlorn on Apr 17, 2003 7:07:23 GMT -5
Ok, everything is done but I don't know any commands. The screen when open cygwin is BASH-2.05B$
Do you have any guidance?
|
|
|
Post by Eaichu on Apr 17, 2003 21:21:30 GMT -5
There's a small problem with Cygwin. Normally, when you first configure the Source Code.. you have to read a set of instructions and guidelines, then type in "understood" after reading all of it to continue.. it does all of that, except you cant enter the understood command, because it cuts off.
Any way to get around this? I think it could work if it werent for that slight little error..
|
|
Forlorn
FESSer
Come grow old with me. The best is yet to be...
Posts: 207
|
Post by Forlorn on Apr 18, 2003 1:58:45 GMT -5
I get the problems done already. Cyg function somehow like DOS (lucky I know about DOS), however, I don't know how to configure or other complicated commands in it. I read the boo and jay readme but I still cannot figure out what to do. The point now is I don't know any command yet (except some in DOS)
Thank you for your consideration,
|
|
|
Post by Eaichu on Apr 18, 2003 11:58:41 GMT -5
Cygwin functions as a Linux terminal unit. If you want to unpack the following files from Boo's FE4 translation page, simply type in "tar jxvf filename" in the terminal to unpack the files.
You still arent going to get too far, unless I can find a way around the little error that I encountered.
|
|
TogeKiD
FESSer
I love Twilkitri. :-*
Posts: 2,594
|
Post by TogeKiD on Apr 18, 2003 17:19:33 GMT -5
I got CygWin.. but I don't understand a thing! '
|
|
Boo
FESSer
Posts: 3
|
Post by Boo on Apr 18, 2003 23:49:44 GMT -5
Well, I just gave Cygwin a shot. ./configure worked (did have to edit a line in 'configure' to get past the problem Cuan mentioned). libSDL compiled & installed w/o incident. But I error out on 'make'. Not sure if this is solvable or not - I'm no hacker, and I don't have the time to mess around with this at the moment. I never had problems compiling the code in Linux, so you could just install Linux. Zsnes & Snes9x are both available in Linux as well. Jay might be able to help w/compiling in Cygwin. I don't know how often he visits our message board at pub40.ezboard.com/bj2erenegadesfireemblemivbut that might be a place to grab him. Boo
|
|
TogeKiD
FESSer
I love Twilkitri. :-*
Posts: 2,594
|
Post by TogeKiD on Apr 19, 2003 13:23:52 GMT -5
Ok, I'll try that.. Thanks Boo!
|
|
|
Post by FE4er on Apr 19, 2003 13:27:38 GMT -5
|
|
|
Post by TerranigmaFreak (admin) on Apr 19, 2003 14:06:13 GMT -5
Wow, Boo! It's great to see you here. You signed up for my boards long ago but never posted. I feel really honored to have you here(and no I am not being sarcastic).
|
|
|
Post by Jay on Apr 20, 2003 0:39:01 GMT -5
Hi, I know everyone is dying to figure out how to compile the fe4 project in cygwin. The FE4 project was compatible with cygwin prior to v0.50.9 of the project. Which means, you guys are very lucky, the cygwin compatibility code still exists.
Solution: 1) Cuan mentioned something about configure failing to run. Type: 'autoheader && autoconf' in the fe4 root directory and this will solve your problem. Also, make sure 'more' is installed.
2) Locate cygwin binaries for sif and TableLib. RPGD once had TableLib on their website, not sure if it's still there. You will need to compile TableLib from source, and place tbl.h into the include/ directory and libtbl.a to the lib/ directory. TableLib is very very old and you might have to fiddle aournd with the Makefile to get it to compile under cygwin.
3) You must recompile Jeremy Gordan's 65816 assembler with the patch included with the project. Place 65816.exe into the bin/ directory.
----- As for thief sword bug... I wouldn't be able to help you since I'm not too sure what you've been doing. But here are some tips you should note which can aid you in debugging.
1) # - This is a comment but watch out #*# - this is an uncomment If you treated #*# as comments, then that ain't good. Make sure you haven't touched those lines. I shouldn't have done that, but it's too late now.
2) These lines: # @@253724@@ are important too. If you deleted one of these would lead to disaster.
3) Take note of the final output when building the patch.
Example: script/weap.sif: There is no block greater than size 18 bytes remaining in section 'weap'.
This means you've ran out of space to place translated text in the rom. Because of the lack of space, the translated text won't even make it in and therefore produce garbage.
Solution to this: Edit the rat files in the rat/ directory and adjust free space.
4) Disable the --merge flag passed to sif. It may be a merge problem with sif. If this works, send me a bug report so I can fix it, but make sure #3 works first.
Good Luck!
|
|
|
Post by Eaichu on Apr 20, 2003 11:53:49 GMT -5
*nods* I'll try to see what I can do with cygwin with those instructions, thank you.
As for the Thief Sword problem, this is how I've been doing things. You remember how the 25% patch was done? The weapons were named "Iron" instead of "Iron Sword", so I was just restoring everything to the way it used to be, because that's how the main audience of players preferred it. However, once I did this, certain items(Return Ring, Thief Sword, Holsety) all became garbled, and I did this around three times making sure I just deleted what had to be taken out.
Also, sometimes.. when I delete too much text, certain weapons are relocated. Like, all Iron weapons will be called "Depleted" or the Silver Axe will be called "Thorhammer".
I'll keep note with some of the things that you told me, because I think that might be the problem here.
|
|